US film registry to preserve ‘Forrest Gump’


Each year, the Library of Congress selects 25 films considered “culturally, historically or aesthetically” significant, under the terms of the National Film Preservation Act. The 1994 hit “Forrest Gump,” starring Tom Hanks, became one of those chosen films. “Forrest Gump,” a movie about an everyman who became part of iconic events of the 1960s and 1970s, won six Academy Awards the year it was released, including for Best Picture.

Also making Library of Congress’ list was Disney’s “Bambi,” “The Big Heat” from 1953, and 1991’s “Silence of the Lambs,” starring Sir Anthony Hopkins. Other lesser known woks were chosen because of their contribution to the medium, such as Pixar’s “A Computer Animated Hand.” It is one of the earliest examples of 3D computer animation.


About Author


News Assistant/Writer

Comments are closed.

Social Widgets powered by