UPDATE: Harriet Tubman Statue Bill

0

March 19, 2011
Wendy Thompson
Editor-in-Chief
Lynette Long

(Photo above:  Supporters of the Harriet Tubman statue, taken prior to the hearing in the House of Delegates)

UPDATE:  Harriet Tubman Statue Bill

According to Linda Mahoney, president of Maryland NOW, the Washington Post is predicting a vote in the Senate committee soon. Mahoney stresses that “we need to contact the committee members – especially the Senate committee – today. The message should be that even if the committee member can’t personally support the legislation, she (or he) should vote it out of committee, so the entire General Assembly can vote.”

Though opponents against the statue are few, Mahoney admits, “They have some big guns…We had hearings in both the Senate and House of Delegates on Feb. 23.  There was no opposition testimony in the House, and only one person representing three organizations in the Senate hearing.  In contrast, we had two dozen organizations – many statewide – submitting letters and several petitions in support of the legislation…It’s going to take concerted action this week in order to get Harriet’s statue out of committee.”

Contact Your State Senator:

 

State Senators       District    Email Address                                                            Party

Joan Carter Conway     43        joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us D         Co-sponsor

Roy Dyson                   29        roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us D

Bill Ferguson                46        bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us D

J.B. Jennings                 7          jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us R

Paul Pinsky                   22        paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us D

Edward Reilly               33        edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us R

Jim Rosapepe               21        jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us D

(second address)                      senator.rosapepe@inbox.com

Bryan Simonaire           31        bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us R

Ronald Young              3          ronald.young@senate.state.md.us D

Joanne Benson            24        Joanne.Benson@senate.state.md.us D                  Co-sponsor

Karen Montgomery      14        Karen.Montgomery@senate.state.md.us D         Co-sponsor

Share.

About Author

avatar

DC Spotlight’s Editor-in-Chief

Comments are closed.

Social Widgets powered by AB-WebLog.com.